To some people, studying the past has little value in the modern world. Why do you think it is important to do so? What will be the effect if children are not taught history?

Nowadays, it's undeniable that subjects with more weightage on Technology and Maths are more preferred on the curriculum than conventional subjects like history. While some people support this trend as a means to survive modernization and shift in the economy, I argue why subject like a history is important and what would be its impact if it is completely taken off the syllabus. To start with, it is important to consider that history teaches about various cultures. This is because the subject teaches the roots of a particular civilization, which can amplify an individual to learn more about their culture and practices. To illustrate this better, by knowing the past of ethnicity, people can easily interact and connect with them in future to network better. As result, history can act as a catalyst among students to be multicultural advocates, which is quite essential for this massively globalised world. In contrast, juveniles lack patriotism and self-identify if history as a subject is overlooked in their studies. This is due to the fact that historical learning helps children understand their pasts and roots, by understanding what has been achieved or suffered by their predecessors. For example, a recent study of a sample size of around 100 army officers asked about their favourite subjects, and more than 30% of them pointed out history. As a result, one cannot deny the negative effects of bypassing history can a subject. In conclusion, although major subjects like Computer Science and Maths are recommended to have more preference over subjects like History, one should understand the repercussions of totally overlooking the latter with its corresponding effects as stated with examples above.