It is becoming increasingly popular to have a year off between finishing school and going to university. What are the advantage and disadvantages of this?

To begin, nowadays young people are more likely to have a gap year between finishing off high school and going to university. There are both advantages and disadvantages to this matter and it is always a personal choice and subjective. First and foremost, a gap year provides a sufficient amount of time for a person to regain mental stability and relaxation after high school examinations. For instance, many young students travel for months and this helps them to build up their personalities and improve their cognitive skills. Furthermore, the main benefit is that it provides enough time to choose their career paths based on their interests and talents. Moreover, students can always work full or part- time before starting university, allowing them to gain work experience. On the other hand, there are certain drawbacks as well. The main problem is, some students spend their year off in a less productive manner without investing their precious time in something beneficial and important. Also, they lose the chance of graduating college with their friends and loved ones together. However, this affects negatively their professional development too. For example, one can achieve fast and well-established career growth by starting a job as soon as possible than spending more years in college. At present, work experience is crucial in order to find a new job or obtain a promotion. To conclude, there are both pros and cons to taking a year off between finishing school and going to university. However, it is solely a personal choice and some may find this as an opportunity to regain relaxation and develop their personalities while others might end up wasting their valuable time unnecessarily.