Some people feel that governments should take a large proportion of people’s salaries to pay for necessary public services such as roads and schools. Others feel that high taxes are a bad thing. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

Taxes are always a controversial issue in our societies. On the one hand, some people argue that from high taxes public discontent rises above acceptable levels. On the other hand, governments bear noteworthy annual expenditures for public services, so taxes are clearly necessary. As far as I am concerned, both points of view are valid. Firstly, let us consider how essential public services are. Just to give a few examples, to ensure citizens can get to work without getting stuck in traffic, governments provide many alternative modes of transportation such as buses and trains. To help protect the environment, they also offer environmental-friendly alternatives like cycling lanes. All of these services entail a noteworthy outlay by the governments and this is the reason why taxes are so high; they are clearly necessary. However, high taxes could lead to social disorders. Many workers feel that the government takes too large a proportion of their salary. Where public services are poor, this seems unjustified. In addition, unlike wealthy citizens, the less well-off sometimes find it difficult to pay taxes as they struggle to make a living. Finally, the better off people are, the more they tend to avoid paying taxes. This makes other tax payers angry and they also try to avoid paying taxes. In conclusion, I retain that paying taxes is fundamental, but, at the same time, taxes should be distributed in a more equitable way between the rich and the poor. In particular, the former should pay a much larger amount.