Some children spend hours every day on their smartphones. Why is this the case? Do you think this is a positive or a negative development?

Nowadays smartphones play essential roles in human life at all ages as they provide convenience and entertainment, and satisfy all parts of people’s requirements. Children are one of the targets of mobile phones. Since there is various content that attracts children's interest including games and social media, The time spent on screen becomes greater consequently. In my opinion, this issue will impact kids in a negative way. The reason will be outlined in this essay. Firstly, although there are many features which may provide benefits for the development of people at an early age such as useful learning websites or videos. Some social media platforms such as TikTok, YouTube or Instagram can draw kids’ attention for long hours, influence their cognitive function and make them less focused while studying on-site. As a result, they cannot completely receive the fundamental knowledge they should at school. Spending more hours on smartphones also results in less face-to-face connection between kids and their real-life friends which affects their ability to create relationships with unfamiliar faces or strangers as they will have fewer chances to learn and communicate with people. For instance, some children only make conversation with friends on social media and cannot communicate efficiently in real life. This issue will become a problem for their work life when they grow up and become adults since they will lack the ability to effectively speak to others. In conclusion, I believe that even though many obvious benefits can be seen in mobile phones’ features, long-time use of it in people at an early age will be a negative development for them due to the reduced focus on education and decrease in making relationship skill. Parents should carefully look after their kids and control their screen time appropriately to reduce the impact of these disadvantages.