Some university students want to learn about other subjects in addition to their main subjects. Others believe it is more important to give all their time and attention to studying for a qualification. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

Some university students today do not only attend classes in their main subjects but also in additional ones. Meanwhile, others devote all their time and attention to fulfilling a relevant qualification. While learning about extracurricular subjects offers opportunities to practice an array of skills, the main subjects should always be given priority since it is their main study area. It is absolutely reasonable for students to take part in additional classes when studying at university. Taking a multidisciplinary approach to their studies allows students to form and sharpen a skill set, which includes time management, dealing with stress, teamwork and so on, that is essential in workplaces. In addition to this, those who learn about various subjects at university usually graduate with knowledge related to more than one field, facilitating future turnover or career shift if their initial occupational path is dissatisfying. For example, if dual-degree students in art and marketing dislike their job as a marketing executive, they can switch to being an artist instead. Providing many advantages as it does, not everyone is capable of doing extra subjects. The reasons for this vary among people. Some may not have enough time to fit in a second course, while some simply cannot cope well with stress and the tremendous workload from other classes. Furthermore, an in-depth study of a subject demands lots of time and effort as it gets more complicated as one studies deeper. If not allocate enough time to give full focus on their studies, they could fail their exams and lose interest in their studies. Consequently, their courses would become both a waste of time, money and effort. For instance, some students learning more than needed have to spend time studying again or even quit studying as they have not performed well in both courses. In conclusion, whether choosing to acquire additional lessons or not is decided by one’s personal preferences. However, in any case, I strongly believe students should direct their focus to their main subjects, as it ensures good performance which benefits those who cannot deal with overwhelming stress well.