Some businesses now say that no one can smoke cigarettes in their offices. Some governments have banned smoking in public places. Overall this is a very good idea. To what extent do you agree?

In the past, people used to smoke everywhere without any restrictions, nowadays, smoking has been prohibited in many offices, and in public places by some governments. This development represents a significant step for our society and I agree with it. To begin with, cigarettes affect negatively our life. Smoking leads to a lot of major diseases, such as asthma, cancer, heart attack, and pulmonary diseases. Therefore, the number of diseases is increasing considerably also for the passive ones. According to recent research provided by British scientists, smoke exposure contributes to approximately 41,000 deaths among non-smoking adults and 400 deaths in infants each year. Children who are exposed to smoke are at increased risk for sudden infant death syndrome and acute respiratory infections. Furthermore, the government should ban and prohibit smoking in public places, offices, and even near children. Secondly, the business of cigarettes brings numerous economic benefits to companies and the national economy. Despite the best efforts of the tobacco control community, it continues to kill millions of people each year. Moreover, tobacco companies need to maintain their position in markets so that they continue to sell their products and hence earn profits for their owners. For instance, the world’s six largest cigarette manufacturers made profits of more than $55 billion, which is more than the combined profits of Coca-Cola, Nestle, FedEx, and Starbucks. Thus, the government should ban tobacco companies which leads to morbidity and death of numerous numbers of people. In conclusion, cigarettes are so harmful to our society and tobacco companies should be prohibited in the whole world.