The unlimited use of cars may cause many problems. What are those problems? In order to reduce the problems, should we discourage people to use cars?

In modern society, possessing a car became a scale to measure prosperity and wealth. The advantages of owning a car are many. Although there are countable negative impacts as well. This essay will expound on some of the problems associated with the usage of cars and why should people consider not using cars frequently. To begin with, the usage of cars has notable drawbacks in the environment such as carbon emission, global warming, ozone layer depletion, and increased traffic jams. The extensive usage of automobiles including cars emits a tremendous amount of carbon which facilitates the major issues of the environment like global warming and ozone layer depletion. A study conducted in 2014 at SASTRA University, Thanjavur found that car exhaust smoke is the primary factor for global warming in Tamilnadu (37%) compared to industrial air pollution (32%). On the other hand, to reduce carbon emissions and keep the environment safe, the usage of cars should really be reduced drastically. This can be achieved by preferring to walk to the nearest destinations, considering by-cycles for short distances and public transport for long travels. In addition, Government should also consider implementing non-fossil fuel vehicles such as hydrogen-powered automobiles and electric vehicles. However, government alone cannot achieve this and it is our responsibility too to protect and safeguard nature as an individual. To encapsulate, the negative effects of usage of cars are severe and they are directly related to our mother nature and it is our responsibility to contribute as much as possible to protect it. Hence people are encouraged to mitigate the usage of cars.