Some children spend hours every day on their smartphones. Why is this the case? Do you think it is a positive or negtive development?

The invention of smartphones is one of many phenomena of the twenty-first century. There's no denying that smartphones have become a part of our daily lives. With over eighty per cent of children owning smartphones, this convinces me that smartphones are more beneficial. Despite having a number of drawbacks, smartphones serve a great purpose. Using the smartphone comes with several advantages. Firstly, they make communication more convenient. Applications such as Instagram, I-message, Messenger, and Snapchat allow children to communicate with friends and family. In addition, said applications offer global services so they can contact friends wherever they want. Secondly, most services are pursuing the online platform. More classes are online, and smartphone owners will have the upper hand. Finally, smartphones provide a vast field of knowledge. Children can learn new skills by playing games, watching videos, and reading e-books. However, there are reports that smartphones are causing harm too. Studies show that there's a decline in the attention span of children. They speculate that the cause is the overuse of smartphones by children. Students' performance in school is also declining. Furthermore, smartphones have a relationship with health problems: office syndrome and obesity. Moreover, smartphone users are more likely to have depression because smartphone addiction separates users from reality, making them feel more lonely. In conclusion, smartphones have more good than harm. It is up to the children whether they should use it beneficially or not. In my opinion, instead of preventing phones from children, we should educate and discipline them by teaching them good uses for phones.