The developement of tourism contributed to English becoming the most prominent language in the world. Some people think this will lead to English becoming the only language to be spoken globally. What are the advantages and disadvanges to having one having one language in the world

Nowadays, English is becoming the most commonly spoken language globally. An increase in the tourism is in one way or the other, contributing for English to becoming a common medium. If English becomes the only prominent lingo across the globe, there are a few advantages and disadvantages to it, which will be discussed in this essay. The main advantage of one common language is that communication becomes easier between nations and people. This will help in economic growth, transfer of technologies and information,exchange of trade and commerce and negotiations between countries.It also aids in learning and transfer of ideas among people. In addition to that, people from different corners of the world may be in touch with each other without any difficulty of misunderstandings. For instance, a person, who studied in one place can go and work in any other place without facing any language barrier. On the other hand, there are also a few disadvantages to having one common language. Firstly, the vernacular or local dialects may disappear eventually along with their cultures. Having diverse cultures and traditions is what makes this world interesting. Also many scriptures that are treasure houses for abundant information are in different mother tongues which may get extinct as a side effect. Secondly, it may cause a threat to tourism because people usually travel to explore different customs and lifestyles. Therefore, with a common language, this diversity may reduce gradually leading to a lack of interest in tourism. To conclude, though having a single common language reduces the barriers between people and nations communicating with each other, it also eventually destroys the varied cultures that are linked to diversified dialects.