Many people work long hours, leaving very little time for leisure activities

Of course, everyone has dreams and goals, and it's no secret that you have to sweat hard to achieve them. Unfortunately, some people are too into it, that is, they work 17-18 hours a day like a robot.I believe this situation has more drawbacks for a person and also society rather than advantages.I will share both viewpoints in this essay. To begin with, spending long hours at work would give people very minimal time to run personal errands. Due to this, they cannot plan well in advance. For instance, they may miss paying a credit card bill or a utility bill on time and this can lead to a penalty. Secondly, their relationship with family and friends can be spoiled. As they do not spend quality time with their children, the bonding between them can weaken. Finally, working for extended hours could lead to several health disorders. In one of the global health surveys, it is reported that health problems among the working population have increased. The incidences of these health problems were considerably low ten years ago when people worked fewer hours. On the other hand, to maintain the pace of the competition, we are forced to work extensively. Money-mindedness has increased among individuals. These factors are driving a majority of people to work for prolonged hours. Additionally, nowadays, jobs are not secure. This is another reason that is forcing people to voluntarily work for extra time. One of the employee satisfaction surveys revealed that working professionals are contributing 20% more than the official working hours to achieve their targets on time. To recapitulate, working overtime might help people secure their jobs and earn more money. However, in the long term, it will lead to health problems and reduce productivity. Not being able to spend enough time with their spouse and children may also affect their family. Hence, in my opinion, the disadvantages of this development outweigh the advantages.