During the last century, the use of cars has increased dramatically. This has caused problems such as pollution and overcrowded roads. Why do people buy cars and what can we do to stop people from buying them?

With the rise of urban civilisation, vehicle usage has been increasing started from the last century. The more vehicles we used, the more toxic gases are emitted. The surge in car usage causes air pollution and traffic congestion, which is detrimental to the public's health and their daily life. Yet, many people intend to purchase automobiles without thorough consideration. In this essay, I will discuss the reason behind with providing a suggestion to halt people from purchasing motor vehicles. To commence with, people keep buying cars because of an upgraded living standard. Compared to the last century, people's purchasing power has been strengthened. Car is no longer a luxury good to everyone as the global economy is prosperous. People, for instance, can purchase a car by paying installments. The financial burden, hence, is eased by paying the car price at once. The increase in car usage exacerbates air pollution and traffic jams. To wrestle with these problems, setting a quota for retail cars is paramount to halt people from buying cars. Limiting the number of cars to be sold in the consumer market can drive an instant impact to improve traffic congestions as well as air pollution. For example, once the quota is full, people will consider commuting by public transports. This enhances the utilization of public transports and the emission on the amount of carbon dioxide will be lessened in long run. By way of conclusion, motor vehicles are elementary in transport. Although it is convenient for commuting people from place to place, the excessive number of cars also leads to air pollution and traffic congestions. Therefore, one possible way to hamper the worsening of air pollution and traffic congestion is setting quotas for motor vehicles. Let's work hand-in-hand to urge the government for imposing a quota for cars to create a better living environment!