Over consuming sugar is unhealthy. Some people think that governments should take responsibility to control it. Others think that individuals should take responsibility of sugar intake. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Research has established that excessive consumption of foods high in sugar content can result in non-communicable diseases such as diabetes, cancer and heart problems. Some believe that it is up to the government should control its uptake, while others think that each person should be responsible. In my view, the government should ensure that sugary meals are reduced in the market by enforcing laws that regulate the amount of sugar that reaches consumers and control the marketing of these products. Firstly, many think that individuals need to reduce their intake of sweetened foodstuffs if they are should be health conscious. However, some people might not be aware of the detrimental effects, some do not have the courage to stop while others have no alternative options in place of these commodities. For example, there has been growing evidence that people are likely to consume any food readily available in the shops, and it's mostly sugary foods. On the other hand, it remains the governmental role to ensure that companies produce foods that are not harmful to the population at large. It can do this by introducing laws such as sugar taxes. Such laws had a huge impact in the UK some years ago which made South African law enforcement agencies follow suit. However, this produced desirable results too in this African country for it resulted in reduced calories in soft drinks, bread and other consumables which are sweetened. The other aspect the authorities could do is make sure that advertisements for sweets, soft beverages and chocolates are limited and be replaced the more fruits and vegetables. If this is coupled with an education campaign, it can make people eat wisely. Finally, in my,opinion even though it depends on an individual to take in whatever they want, it still remains the responsibility of those in power to control what goes to the consumer. To illustrate, if there are regulations that prevent the marketing of these commodities it can go a long way. In addition, these products should be placed on shelves behind the tills to prevent impulse buying by consumers. Moreover, if the quantities of sugar are minimised in the food as a governmental initiative, it won't be harmful to anyone who consumes it. In conclusion, eating a lot of sweet foodstuffs can result in sickness. Furthermore, the government could help decrease this by actively controlling production companies and also minimising advertisements. Each person should be given a proper food environment where they are able to make healthy choices.