Nowadays people prefer to shop in large supermarkets rather than nearby local shops. Why do you think this is happening? Is this a positive or a negative trend?

Number of malls are increasing in metropolition areas as most of the people tend to buy things from these super markets rather than buying it from street shops now a days. This situation has arise because of number of different reason which has both positive and negative effects. The foremost reason for favouring this scenario is, availability of different goods at same place. A shopper can buy grocery,vegetables,clothes etcetra from mall instead of wondering from one shop to another shop. In addition to this, stuffs are cheaper in super malls as compared to local shops. Moreover, more options are available to a customer in supermarkets. For instance, an individual who wants to purchase clothes, has more options of brands in a shopping centre in comparision with local vendor. In Contrary, buying from a mart can lead to over time spending because while roaming in mall a person can waste his time in checking unnecessary goods. In addition, it may lead to over spending as well. Lastly, malls have ruined bussiness of local vendors. An independent survey reported last week states that 30% of local shops have been closed after opening of Alpha Mall in Ahmedabad. In conclusion, although, malls are biggest contributors to economy, livelihood of local shopkeepers has been ruined beacuse of super stores.