Many places in the world rely on tourism as a main source of income. Unfortunately, tourism can also be a source of problems if it is not managed correctly. Describe the advantages and disadvantages of tourism in the modern world. Do you think that benefits of tourism outweigh its drawbacks

Nowadays, tourism generates a significant portion of national income for many countries, but it has certain drawbacks too. From a personal perspective, tourism does have some demerits, but those are negligible compared to the advantages it brings to our lives. Therefore, this essay will examine the advantages and disadvantages of tourism and provide a logical conclusion. The two main advantages of the developed tourism industry are a boost in the country’s economy and a large number of new job openings for the local people. Firstly, tourists spend money on a wide range of services, including hotels, restaurants, transportation, food, amusements and medical services. This way, tourism yields additional income, greatly supporting the country’s economy. Secondly, tourism increases the level of employment by bringing new jobs. For instance, the influx of tourists results in a more significant demand in restaurant workers, tour guides, hotel staff and employers of retail services, exhorting business owners to hire more people for these positions. However, there are many negative factors too, for example, tourists spoil nature when they discover that it is necessary to treat another country with respect, some people bring drugs and other nasty things with them, thereby spoiling other people and the reputation of the country. In addition, resort owners cut down trees for their profits and to attract more tourists, degrading the environment. To conclude, although tourism can have more positive effects than negative. I believe that these benefits of tourism outweigh its drawbacks.