Everyone should stay in school until they reach the age of 18. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

With the rapidly evolving modern society creating chances for amassing wealth and thus opening avenues for elevating social status, an increasing amount of people tend to believe that it would be fine for those under 18 to not attend school. However, in my opinion, schools have indispensable values for teenagers. Schools establish robust foundations for the student’s future. For example, school education prepares them with better employment prospects after graduation. Almost all companies today would deem a college diploma as essential for recruitment since it represents years of formal training on an extensive range of skills. In contrast, although short-term upskilling projects or apprenticeship programs could equip school -age students with livelihoods, they could also reduce possibilities for students. Besides, schools foster teenagers’ psychological development by offering them a relatively secure environment. In other words, interacting with peers under the guidance and supervision of teachers would give teenagers a sense of security and belonging, which augments their cognitive capacity. Nevertheless, early exposure to the harsh reality beyond school will put adolescents in unstable and uneasy situations where urges for self-protection instead of learning will be engendered. Consequently, the student’s overall ability is decreased, and with this their quality of life. Most importantly, schools offer a platform to experiment, meaning that students could try whatever they want at school and apply the experience gained from these trials to their forthcoming work. For example, they could try to interact with diverse personalities to discern the most collaborative type, leading to valuable insights in the future. Moreover, school is the only place that tolerates mistakes. When students become employees, they need to be vigilant of all the possible malpractices as such behaviour could engender consequences that far exceed school students ’ capacity to bear. In conclusion, everyone should stay in school until they reach 18 because schools prepare you for the future better and offers a nearly risk-free environment.