Car ownership has increased so rapidly over the past thirty years that many cities in the world are now ‘one big traffic jam.’ How true do you think this statement is? What measures can governments take to discourage people from using their cars?

Nowadays, there is a common tendency for the rapidly increasing number of car owners during the last 30 years. Therefore, traffic congestion is growing in various cities' vicinities as well. I strongly believe that this statement is the truth. In this essay, I will discuss my opinion about the truth of this statement and about measures that can be taken by governments in order to reduce traffic jams. To begin with, today auto is considered to be the most universal type of vehicle. There are several reasons for this fact. First of all, individual vehicles can provide people with the opportunity to be independent of time, therefore, they could use time management without any restrictions. Moreover, cars could assist people with getting rid of contact with others in order to not get down with something, which is more relevant today. Hence people would rather drive their own cars instead of going on a metro or another not road, public transport. Despite the fact that there is an abundance of advantages to possessing a car, it may cause a problem with congested traffics. This issue might be solved only by government intervention. Consequently, from the government’s point of view, they could entice people to use alternative types of transport thus reducing car ownership. For instance people would travel by electrical scooters or bikes for free if they didn’t want to travel a long distance. In conclusion, many traffic jams are caused by the desire of people to own a new auto. I totally align myself with this statement and furthermore strongly believe that government will overcome this question in a more peaceful way for the environment and humanity as well.