Some people think that government should provide Internet access at no charge. others, however, argue that people should pay for this service. discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

It is a common belief that government should supply Internet access to their citizens for free. However, there is a more persuasive argument that people should pay for access to the Internet themselves. This is because there are more important areas in which government should spend their funds. On the one hand, providing free Internet service would benefit citizens financially. Since the Internet is so important in our daily lives, everyone needs access. However, it can be quite expensive to pay for this connection each month. For instance, in Vietnam, connecting to the Internet costs households about 10-20 dollars per month. This amount of money accounts for almost 10 per cent of monthly living enpenses. If the government offered free Internet, citizens would be able to save the money that they normally have to spend on Internet access. Nevertheless, citizens should pay for their own Internet services as governments must deal with more urgent issues. Today, there are still major problems with people living in poverty. They need financial assistance from their government, but government budgets are limited. For example, in the United States, some people are not able to pay for their basic needs, such as food and shelter, on their own. These people need financial aid for their living expenses. In this situation, providing them with the funds for essential needs is more important than supplying free Internet. To sum up, while it is apparent that providing free Internet access would be financially beneficial for citizens, it is undeniable that there are more urgent uses for government funds.