Some people believe that it is good to share as much information as possible in scientific research, business and the academic world. Others believe that some information is too important or too valuable to be shared freely. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Github as the largest website for engineers sharing their projects freely was bought by Microsoft a few years ago, which might cause a closure in many free programs. Once the news came out, some engineers claimed that sharing the advancement of technology openly can make society grow faster, whereas some companies believed that this kind of knowledge is too precious to be dispensed without any price. In the following essay, I would describe the views from both sides and explain why I sided with the former idea. On the one hand, the major reason to keep most academic results open can be accelerating the growth of technology. For example, if cognitive researchers try to conduct a behaviour experiment on adolescents, they can check journals to see if anyone does this before so that they can move forward to the next steps instead of doing repetitive work. As a result, the investigating time of papers can be shortened to some degree, and the conclusions can be released sooner. On the other hand, some business owners believe the reason to keep scientific outcomes private is to protect the efforts of the authors or the business analysis companies. It is definitely crucial to do so in order to encourage the creators who devote themselves to making breakthroughs in technological sectors. For instance, if directed professors share their findings freely, they can not make profits from their inventions and they may not be able to afford better labs or renew facilities in use. From a personal perspective, although financial incentives are essential for inventors, releasing academic outcomes without any price helps with speeding up the process of developing cutting-edge technologies, which in turn contributes to the financial success of this area. To illustrate, K8s was released as license-free software initially and many related applications are created based on it, which makes it more commonly used among other competitors. In the end, K8s turned into licensed software and made a lot of fortune. In conclusion, distributing information without price tags can help with upgrading technology sectors while that can eliminate the profit earned from the inventions. In my opinion, I sided with the former idea. Sharing informative data is a more effective way to push development and dominate the industries at an early stage.