Many manufactured food and drink products contain high levels of sugar, which causes many health problems. Sugary product should be made more expensive to encourage people to consume less sugar. Do you agree og disagree?

Processed food and beverage often contain an enormous amount of sugar, and that can lead to serious health issues. To encourage the citizens to reduce their sugar intake, the statement suggests that government should apply additional fees on these products. Despite the fact that illness associated with high sugar consumption put a strain on health service budgets, I personally disagree with the statement because it seems to facilitate discrimination against some groups in the country based on their appearance and taste. The health sector is extremely burdened when it comes to capacity and finances. In the last few decades our eating habits have worsened drastically, and despite this, little has been done about it for years. The growing demand for fast and sweetened drinks is reflected by the increasing body mass index (BMI) of the general population, subsequently putting more people at risk of diseases related to negative lifestyles, such as diabetes and obesity. According to at least two reliable economic journals, our nation spends nearly 500 million dollars yearly treating preventable illnesses. Therefore, some concerned citizens may argue that people who choose to live their lives in a way that costs society should also be held economically accountable for their unique habits. On the other hand, human beings are characterized by their high levels of intelligence compared with other mammals. With this in mind, when tackling social issues like the one mentioned above, the officials should first turn to education about the matter rather than enforcing financial restrictions as it may come off as hostile and ineffective. Although sugar and these problems are closely correlated, some people may not be affected, whereas others might be suffering from genetic conditions, which cause their health issues. Therefore it is important to acknowledge that someone´s weight or choice of food is not a suitable way to decide whether they pay for an expensive treatment or not. In conclusion, the consequences of certain lifestyles can be quite costly for taxpayers around the world. However, I believe the government can take plenty of preventative measures without singling out anyone.