Fewer young people choose to work in farming. What are the reasons? Should young people be encouraged to do farming work?

It is true that there is a declining number of young people who opt to work in the field of agriculture. There are a number of reasons for this, and I believe that the idea of whether to encourage more of the young to do farming work should depend on the goals of each country. Two main factors are to blame for the shift away from farming among the young generation in many parts of the world. Chief of these is the adoption of machinery in farming activities. In fact, most labor intensive tasks in farming are now done by machines such as trucks, forklifts, automatic sprinklers, and even airplanes. This means that fewer workers are needed to run a farm. Added to this is the fact that the income of farmers is notoriously unstable due to the unpredictability of weather conditions. As a result, more young people are moving to cities to look for jobs with more stable streams of income rather than doing farm work. There are countries that should incentivize young people to do farming work more, while others should not. Regarding the former, if these countries wish to become independent regarding their food supplies or if agriculture is the key sector driving their economies, they should encourage more of their young to get involved in farming. However, as for countries that wish to develop other sectors such as science, technology or tourism, there is little point in having more young people involved in agricultural activities. Instead, they should be encouraged to develop their skills and gain knowledge related to the target driving forces of the country. In conclusion, the main causes of the waning popularity of farming work among the young are primarily the adoption of machinery in farming and the unstable nature of such jobs. I feel that it depends on each country to decide whether to motivate more of their young citizens to work in this field.