Many people believe that the increasing number of cars in cities is the biggest source of pollution and waste. Others think that industries and businesses are the ones causing more harm to the environment. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

Environmental problems have always been pressing issues threatening the world, all countries, and every individual. Some believe that car emissions contribute to the biggest source of pollution and waste, while there are other people who consider industries and businesses the main causes of harm. In this essay, I shall discuss both perspectives and give my own viewpoints. On the one hand, car emissions definitely are major contributors to pollution in cities. Compared to the countryside, there are less vegetation and more vehicles in cities, and in this case, the plants and trees in cities are unable to offset the fume emitted by enormous amounts of vehicles. Though as technology develops, there is an increasing amount of new-energy cars emerging in the market, the traditional fossil-fuel-powered cars still dominate the first place of decisions made by consumers. On the other hand, industries are another source of pollution whether it is in cities or in the countryside. The fumes, contaminated water, and solid waste produced by industries often pollute from one place to another. For example, the fumes and polluted water spread by air and water, and the solid waste will ultimately affect people when it is buried underground or inappropriately stored and disposed of. In my opinion, both car exhaust and industrial waste significantly destroy the environment, and if we do not take any measures to manage the harm we have done to the planet and limit the waste we will be making, the result will be catastrophic. Eventually, we will suffer from what we do. In conclusion, I firmly believe that whether it is the government or the individual, we all should do something to protect our environment, even if it is a tiny bit of effort. In this way, we will benefit from the remedies in the long term.