It is becoming increasingly popular to have a year off between finishing school and going to university. What are the advantages and disadvantages of this?

Nowadays, having a gap year after high school is trendy among students before attending their universities. While this offers a few advantages, there are also some disadvantages which are worth considering. There are two main benefits to youngsters for having a break before university. Firstly, they will be able to look for jobs during the year off. When students work, they will be earned not only the necessary skills and competencies but also the income. As a result, their strong financial saving will support them to less worry while attending the universities and working experiences are also applicable in their studies. Another advantage of taking a study pause is the fact that they can see the world outside from classroom by travelling around. Only when they explore new places, they will gain knowledge and exposure of human natures which can enlighten them with maturity. However, there still are some disadvantages ought to be noted. In the first place, the attractive income could cause some students not returning to classrooms. They become financially independent which motivates them to think that earning is more important than attending universities. Furthermore, getting a study break is such a waste of time. It could be hard to focus the study again if they mismanage the school mode of life. As for sure, they may fall one year behind compare with their peer classmates who graduate ahead. In conclusion, if students take a year off, they will learn to appreciate the value of money and be mature enough to handle community. Nevertheless, they may also be less interest in education and delay in studies than other. Therefore, it is important to consider the positives against the negatives carefully that students should take a break or not.