Many manufactured food and drink products contain high level of sugars, which causes many health problems. Sugary products should be made more expensive to encourage people to consume less sugar. Do you agree or disagree?

Numerous health challenges are caused by too much sugar found in foods and drinks produced by manufacturing companies. Some people believe if these sweetened foodstuffs become costly, then consumers would decrease their intake. In my opinion, I agree that high prices deter individuals from purchasing products, but I also believe that healthy alternatives should be provided too. Increasing the cost of sugary products can reduce excessive dietary intake, which is a serious problem experienced by most overweight people because it prevents them from buying them in large quantities. There has been enough evidence that overconsumption of food that has been artificially sugared could result in chronic diseases such as diabetes, heart disease and cancer. For instance, introducing sugar taxes in the UK, South Africa and some American countries managed to reduce the consumption levels of these goods thereby significantly decreasing the burden of disease. Hence, high amounts enforce positive healthy eating behaviours in a population. Besides making these commodities very expensive, introducing better healthier substitutes to the market coupled with dietary education will make it easier for customers to make the right choices. To illustrate, there has been growing evidence in most developing countries indicating that an increase in health knowledge of the public is more likely to help them make informed decisions, thus refraining from unhealthy eating habits. In addition, vegetables, fruits and fruit juices are examples of other replacements that are recommendable and have proven to be effective in alleviating sickness. In conclusion, since there are huge amounts of sugar in most artificial foodstuffs, many think that increasing their prices would curb the amounts ingested by the majority of society. In my view, although hiking the prices can bring desired results, healthy options should be made available.