Nowadays people use social media to keep up with the news. Do you think that they are right or wrong? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

In the present circumstances, many people use social media to keep themselves updated with the actuality. I believe that this argument has some pros and cons and I will elaborate further from my own experience and facts. Since we are living in a world of digitalisation, nowadays people use their phones and tablets to keep them acquainted with news and any type of information. But however, some news on social media might be fake, for example in Mauritius island, recently there has been some torrential rainfall, hence there was no school. But on the next day, schools were resuming as usual, but, there was some fake news mentioning that all schools would be closed again but which was not the case. So I believe that people should be cautious with the news on social media. On the other side, when people solely get news from social media, they are no more socialising with their neighbourhood. For instance, when an individual goes to a nearby shop to buy some newspapers, he meets his friends and chats with them on his way. Unfortunately, the business of newspapers is disappearing and all people employed in the printing business at a certain point will have no jobs. In conclusion, I am not in favour to get news on social media as the news is written by unprofessional people who write unreal news most of the time. On the other side, connecting with society is important, so people should go out and buy their newspapers. Besides, the business of journalism and printing has been here for a decade and we should preserve these jobs.