It is important for people to take risks, both in their professional lives and their personal lives. Do you think the advantages of taking risks outweigh the disadvantages?

Is it beneficial to step out of your comfort zone and try something utterly new? This has been a hot dispute among an avalanche of scientists. Some of them strongly opine that undertaking new challenges is pivotal for anyone whether privately or in the workplace. I personally believe that the perks of this action outweigh its downsides due to a combination of factors. First and foremost, the main benefit of throwing caution to the wind is that it leads to a myriad of opportunities. In other words, a plethora of life-changing chances can come to a person's hands, and the occurrence of this is simply through risk-taking. For instance, my life has completely altered when I accepted a job offer, I could not have different astonishing experiences, such as travelling abroad, getting a promotion and enhancing my income, this could not happen if I remained in the old position. Furthermore, the movement from familiarity to uncertainty can play a paramount role in building strong characteristics and personalities in human beings. As a result of this, a person can become mentally stronger. To elaborate, despite unfamiliarity and the existence of fears, humans can become resilient and more tolerant of some aspects of life, including problems and stress. Without plunging into uncertain situations, none of the charismatic attitudes and skills of exceptional leaders will be constructed, like Nilson Mandela, when he sought out change and took risks for the sake of freedom and improvement, the latter could not become a reality in South Africa without his sacrifices. Therefore, risk-taking is the best option to opt got. Nonetheless, the process of change can have some negative impacts on risk-takers. A number of certain activities require a specific set of competencies, and some degree of danger can be involved in this process. For example, according to a renowned newspaper The Guardians, an 18-year-old freediver, who is a newbie in this domain, was deceased because of losing breath underwater, and his body was discovered after three days, the experts found out this teenager endeavoured this kind of sport without prior knowledge and supervision. To conclude, I strongly agree that the merits of taking hazards surpass its drawbacks because it creates new prospects and develops better traits, which can be utilized either to excel in careers or to face any hurdles. Nevertheless, an effective plan should be considered in the first place to mitigate the level of danger.