People today can use the internet to learn about lives and cultures in other countries, so it is not necessary to travel anymore. Do you agree?

In the modern era, internet has become an essential part of everyday life. It is often said that people can learn about life and cultures of other countries by using the internet and hence there is no need to travel. I strongly disagree with this idea and in this essay I will provide some arguments to support my opinion. From an overall perspective, there is a wide variety of reasons why I believe that travelling is essential to know about cultures of other countries. The primary argument in favour of this idea is that it helps to clear our misconceptions about other cultures. In other words, the internet is producing biased information about some countries because of political agenda. Therefore, people need to interact with other cultures and try to know them personally. As a result, it clears our notions about other cultures. For example, the New York Times magazine website in 2015 portrayed Saudi Arabia as the most dangerous country for women, where they are only allowed to wear Burkha. This was proved wrong by the President Barack Obama when he visited Saudi. Another argument in support of travelling is that it helps people to enjoy by doing new things. If people are only acquiring information from the internet about the culture and life of different countries, then their life will become monotonous and uninteresting. In other words, people often enjoy getting practical experience of other cultures and life such as the type of clothes they wear and food they have. For instance, it is a well known fact that the majority of foreigners who visit India enjoy wearing sarees and trying butter chicken. Hence, people enjoy doing new things rather than only acquiring knowledge about other cultures through internet. In conclusion, this is a topic which is relevant to the modern society. I strongly believe that travelling to other countries to learn about other cultures and life is necessary. This is because it not only helps to clear notions about other cultures but also makes people ’s life more adventurous.