Many elderly people are no longer after by their families but are put in care homes or nursing home. What are the advantages and disadvantages of this trend?

Since young people had a hectic lifestyle due to an overloaded workload, they often seem more careless towards their elderly family members and tend to send them to nursing homes, rather than taking care of them at home. This essay will highlight some of the benefits and drawbacks that have resulted from this switch. To commence with the positives, a crucial advantage is that care homes are often much better equipped, not just in terms of the staff, though, but in terms of the facilities available to deal with the specific demands of elderly people than family homes. Most nursing homes were either they will lack stairs, and for those which do, stair lifts or elevators need to be installed. This means that the typical mobility problems which tend to appear among geriatrics are not exacerbated. Additionally, they have the appropriate staff to cater their daily activities whereas families do not really have people who possess the same skills as those professionals. Nevertheless, sending ageing to convalescent homes does present several problems. The most obvious of which is the lack of loved ones around. While visits from friends and relatives can help to alleviate loneliness, they may be infrequent and not enough to prevent depression. To make matters worse, it has been shown that those who are lonely are at a greater risk of becoming depressed and having their immune system weakened, further affecting their health. Furthermore, being surrounded by illness and death can lead to curtailment of happiness and trigger severe depression. In conclusion, despite the advantages of specially-trained staff and well-equipped facilities that nursing homes can offer the elderly, the impacts of loneliness and its concomitant depression should be taken into consideration. Therefore, it is highly important to weigh the pros and cons and make informed decisions regarding the care of elderly family members.