Telling the truth at all times is not essential. On some occasions it is necessary to tell lies, and it is wrong to tell the truth. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience

People may encounter difficult moments in life and find it hard,to tell the truth because it may become awkward or it can be hurtful to others. Although honesty is important, I agree that on particular occasions, lying can be a better option. There are various reasons which are helpful to better understand this. First, sometimes it is better to lie than to hurt others. People often call it a 'white lie'. It is a small, insignificant lie about an unimportant matter to avoid hurting someone's feelings. For instance, when a woman asks whether she gained weight or not out of curiosity, it will be better to tell her that she is in a good fit instead of saying the truth that she fattened up. Even when the woman is indeed getting weight, saying that someone is fat can be offensive. Even more when it comes to women. Second, not only because it can be hurtful to others but, the moment can also be inappropriate,to tell the truth. To illustrate, if there is a mother going into labour, while in the meantime her husband is cheating with another girl. Considering the moment and condition, it is more appropriate to accompany and calm the mother in lieu of telling her about her husband. Not only bad for her health conditions but, it also threatens childbirth. In conclusion, not all lies are created equal, one can be better than others and even better than telling the actual truth. Avoiding someone's being hurt and keeping away from the unfitting moments are two of many reasons which make lies better than speaking with a candour occasionally.