The detailed description about crime will affect the people and cause many social resources. Some people say that the media should be strictly controlled. To what extent do you agree or disagree ?

Regarding the surge in crime rate nowadays, some blame it on news providers for giving too much detail about illegal activities to spice up their articles. Despite such behaviours could provoke various negative influences in human societies, I hold opponents to stringent censorship of media, since it gives power to authorities to control public, furthermore, unclear information could put viewers in vulnerable situations when they deal with various means of fraud. To begin with, it is true that newspapers along with other media are in favour of uncovering detail about how a crime is being done to satisfy the curiosity of audiences. Those information could easily be accessed by young individuals who are too young to tell right from wrong and imitate their actions as entertainment activities. For example, when a newspaper report a bomb incident, instead of focusing on the incident itself, the journalist lists all the ingredients to make a bomb, since those subsidences are easy to get, it makes many people start to try it at home or even use it to break the laws. However, stringent regulations to control media will lead to various drawbacks in societies. First of all, it allows powerful people to wipe out the voices against them, and sugar-coated their wrongful behaviour. Take North Korea as an example, their media are affiliated with the local government and well known for providing fake news to manipulate residents. Secondly, a detailed description of current scams could deter potential victims from a great financial loss. For, instance, newspapers in Taiwan will reveal the latest frauds in detail including how criminals find their targets and get personal details from them, which help people be more alert when encountering similar situations. To summarise, media should be more aware of the information they provide, since too much detail could derive a rise in population copying the process of those illegal activities, reversely, strict laws to examine the content could lead to more downside, since those with power could benefit from manipulating media, moreover, people are not able to identify the fraud and lost a tidy sum of money. Therefore I tend to disagree with the perspective of making harsher censorship on information providers.