As languages such as English, Spanish and Mandarin become more widely spoken, there is a fear that many minority languages may die out. Some countries have taken steps to protect minority languages. What is you view of this practice?

Nowadays, all over the world, every country has its own official language. Among the countless number of different languages, the use of English, Spanish, and Mandarin seems to be more common, which causes fear of the disappearance of the remaining minority languages. I think not only a group of countries but all of them have taken measures to prevent the extinction of minority languages. I will discuss why in this essay. Firstly, every language is part of the culture of that country. Every civilization has got a long history even if they are in the minority groups therefore the language that is spoken there has a history of the same age, for this reason, neglecting a minority language will destroy a piece of that ancient history. For example, Iran is considered the oldest civilization in the World, there are several minority languages such as Kurdish, and Azeri so, with the destruction of these languages, the value of Iran’s rich history will be reduced. A second factor is that different languages represent the belonging of each person to their own country. If everyone is supposed to speak the same language, there will be no difference between the culture, customs, and traditions of each nation and its population, for instance, the loss of a country ’s language and culture makes no one interested in learning the different cultures of other societies. It might be said that speaking only three languages around the World has advantages and people can easily communicate with each other by going to different countries, however, with the progress of science, simple ways to speak different languages have been invented and there is no need for people to become monolingual. To conclude, the value of the history and culture of each country depends on its language; with the destruction of that, there Is no difference between different people and their rich history so, all the achievements that a civilization has achieved will be forgotten.