Nowadays, distance-learning programs have gained popularity, but some people argue that online courses can never be as good as those taken at a college or university in person. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In the last few years, technology has become an important part of our life. Also in the educational field technology has boosted its implementation like in the distance-teaching systems. However, it is agreed the importance of physical lessons remains a priority. This essay analyses why online courses cannot replace those taken directly by face-to-face lessons for different aspects such as the social life of students and the problem of attention that these kinds of courses give to students. The celebrity of online courses recently has increased for different reasons. The clearest example is the pandemic by COVID-19 with the consequent isolation in our houses that has brought this type of learning very diffused. By contrast, we cannot assume that this way of learning will be prevalent and be considered the best one in the future years. To support this affirmation there are numerous studies where it is shown how schools are extremely important such as a social environment for students, due to the fact that it permits them to develop their personal identity. Furthermore, other studies during the pandemic have shown how isolation has created social problems for students, especially for the younger ones. On the other hand, these web lessons can improve the efficiency of the original one, for example in those cases where a scholar is sick and can’t come to school. In addition, another problem that has been enlightening during the vast usage of online learning has been the loss of attention during lessons. In fact, a large number of students have followed the lectures from their rooms with a lot of things that are stimulators of distraction. This evidence suggests that this type of delivering knowledge can lead, in the future, to serious problems of attention for the population. To conclude, even if there are some benefits that suggest distance-learning programs can be a useful way of teaching, we cannot forget the social importance and the role of schools in students ’ lives. Looking at the future and at the power that technology is taking in our lives we can predict the introduction of distance education as a secondary helpful teaching method in schools.