Many people no longer read newspapers or watch TV news programmes. Instead they get news about the world from the Internet. Is this a positive or negative development?

Some individuals are not reading the news in papers or watching TV anymore. The website has become their source of information for any world newscast. In my opinion, this is a negative development because this is unprofitable for some companies and can result in misinformation. Firstly, watching world reports on television has become unpopular nowadays for they are now readily accessible on the internet which has resulted in most printing businesses closing down due to lack of customers. Statistics reveal that there has been a growing trend of customers who prefer to read current affairs about international issues online instead of printouts. Even if it is beneficial for them since it is convenient, companies in most developing countries which could not manage the media transition innovatively were pushed out of business resulting in many workers losing their jobs. Hence, browsing online had adverse effects on many households and some firms. Although it is becoming common to read about global issues on the computer, there is a greater possibility that such knowledge could not be authentic because most of it might not be audited or verified by trained professionals like editors. For example, the internet is accessible to everyone, so anyone can formulate a story which is untrue and publish it. Such publications caused huge confusion and ethnic unrest when some virtually published articles had contradictory material for one town in South Africa. In addition, misrepresentation of information could result in undesirable conclusions causing wars and cultural conflicts. Moreover, not all information on the internet is valid and reliable. In conclusion, while it seems beneficial to access issues on the internet, it might result in the loss of business and misleading the public sometimes. In my view, it is risky to rely entirely on virtual media.