In some schools and universities, girls tend to choose art (e.g. literature), and boys tend to choose science subjects (e.g. physics). Why do you think this is so? Should this tendency be changed?

A wide variation in the choice of subjects is observed nowadays among school-going children. The male group of students are interested in science subjects, e.g., physics whereas the female group is inclined to take up art subjects like literature. I believe this choice is harmful to society, the result of which is hiking the count of men in comparison to women in many technology-driven companies. Governments should take up the initiative to minimise this gap. To commence, in many rural areas across developing nations, women are still believed to become homemakers after their marriage. For them, education is merely adding another qualification instead of securing employment. However, they are missing out on the biggest fact that a mother's education plays a paramount role in educating a child. I believe every student, irrespective of gender, needs to study subjects like mathematics, physics and biology to ensure they have a holistic development. Secondly, many girls who decide to choose a career in information technology or production units often feel isolated due to the considerably larger number of men. A job in these sectors is possible only when they study mathematics, economics or physics at the elementary level. Moreover, in the twenty-first century we can find a minimum number of women in leading positions in multinational companies. Girls should be mentored in a manner such that they agree to join the workforce as well as lead. For instance, during my employment in my previous company, I found it very hard to find any lady staff to interact with and ask for coffee or lunch. There was a severe lack of company. To conclude, I believe with the aim of women's empowerment, girls should be motivated to pick up science subjects in schools. They should be directed to emphasise education like boys with the spirit of building a better world to live in.