Increasing the price of petrol is the best way to solve growing traffic and pollution problems. To what extent do you agree or disagree? What other measures do you think might be effective?

Nowadays people are concerned and brainstorming effective ways to alleviate congested traffic and pollution from vehicles. Some think if consumers are charged a premium on petrol, traffic and pollution problems will be kept to a minimum. I completely disagree and don’t think increasing the petrol price isn’t an optimal solution. First, raising petrol costs in the expectation of vehicle owners will consume less is impractical. Petrol is not only used in motor vehicles but also for various purposes. For example, manufacturing plants are using petrol for producing goods and rising fuel prices can directly make the manufactured goods expensive for final users. Second, many cars in the city are not the only reason for the growing traffic and sometimes lack of infrastructure and poor urban planning can cause traffic jams on the road. Lastly, we should consider the emission from manufacturing plants of vehicles and not just cars on the road as the technology is advanced enough to manufacture low-emission vehicles yet the emissions from the plant are still considerably high. The immediate measure the government can take is to urge people to use public transport, carpool and bicycles more instead of private motor vehicles. The authority also needs to upgrade the infrastructure, public facilities, and urban planning for the convenience of its citizens. At the same time, they should inform and educate the statistics of carbon emissions resulting from vehicles and vehicle production and the impact on global warming and greenhouse gas emission. In addition, government and private sector companies should continuously research and develop methods to reduce carbon emissions from manufacturing processes. To conclude, increasing the petrol price alone can’t solve traffic congestion and pollution and it’s not the root cause of the problem. Government should invest in infrastructure and urge its people to use public transport more to alleviate those problems.