Today , many people do not know their neighbors. why is this ? what can be done about this ?

Nowadays,  a lot of individuals do not know people living in the same environment as them. This is often caused by a very tight schedule and the nature of their job. However, there are ways of curbing this menace and promoting good interpersonal relationships with one's neighbours. Therefore, creating opportunities for social media connections and finding time for social gatherings will help alleviate the situation. These will be further explained in the coming paragraphs with a logical conclusion. Firstly, let's highlight the number one cause which is having activities all lined up for each Day. Having so much to do every day makes it difficult to find time to interact with one's neighbour as there is often less or no leisure time.Turning to a possible solution, social media comes to mind as it promotes communication with people living far and near. since having activities all lined up makes it difficult for neighbours to interact, this platform makes this possible as it only requires having the contact number of one's neighbour and  their social media Handle. For,example having one's contact number on WhatsApp can enable you to view their status and have an idea of how they think and things they enjoy doing. Therefore, people should ask close by residents for their phone numbers to enable calls to check up and add them to their social media forum for easy interaction amongst themselves. Another challenge which makes it difficult for people living close by to familiarize themselves is their job patterns. This makes it difficult to see, know and talk to one's acquaintance. people sometimes get to leave the house at odd hours while their neighbours are still asleep and oftentimes others work from their homes making it difficult to come out of their houses, hence they cannot identify people living around them. A possible solution to this problem is organizing  Social functions as these bring crowds of different diversity and cultures  together and help them have a common interest. This further promotes unity and bonding among the population living in the same community, therefore they are able to function better. For example in social association, issues affecting a large sum of a population are discussed, and solutions and a way forward are often given, this brings about a sense of belonging, acceptance and understanding of the personality of the population living around them, including what they like and dislike. Thus, this is a way forward for  folk living in the same environment to know each other  better. Conclusively, it is difficult but not impossible for people living in the same vicinity to know each other and interact. communicating via social media forums and organizing social media gatherings are beneficial to solve these problems.