Some parents buy their children whatever they ask for, and allow their children to do whatever they want. Is this a good way to raise children? What consequences could this style of parenting have for children as they get older?

In recent times, parents feel more comfortable giving their children complete access to anything they want and permit them to do as they wish. This is becoming a growing trend as many children are lavished with extra resources beyond imagination. This essay will discuss the negativities and the impact of this practice on the growing children. In my opinion, this is not a proper way to bring up a child. It is not advisable to provide a child with all demands and wants, however, it is essential that every responsible parent meet the basic needs of their children. For example, a child that keeps demanding for a particular candy/ biscuits, most times tend to have an insatiable desire. They cannot be pleased because they always want as much as. Likewise, giving a child total control over their lives at a tender age is not to the best of their interest. This is a learning phase for them so many of them could be misled into the wrong path by their peers. Furthermore, this style of parenting has a negative impact as the child gets older. In as much as every child is entitled to the good things of life, it is also paramount that every parent draws a line to their excesses when raising a child. This could result to indiscipline and they may carry such traits into adulthood if not corrected early enough. Many of these children may turn out to become very irresponsible and dependent on their parents because they have been nurtured to be provided with everything they want from childhood. Additionally, permitting a child to take decisions for themselves without interference will cause more harm than good to them. Children need guidance at every stage of their lives. They need the right direction that will carry them through adulthood. For example there are lots of children out on the streets who live their lives without any parental control, many of them adopt the street life and end up becoming drug addicts or hoodlums as they approach adulthood because of lack of parental guidance and support. In conclusion, it is surely not beneficial to meet all the demands of a child. This could be tasking to parents as they have to go all out to achieve this. Although parents may attend to their children's desires, they should be cultured to know their basic needs even at their tender age. Striking a balance between their needs and wants is essential in the upbringing of a child.