The most important function of music that it helps people reduce stress. To what extent do you agree or disagree. Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Task 2 It has been realised that the fundamental use of music is its ability in reducing people's stress. Music is one of the oldest phenomena in the history of man. Lots of investigations over the years concerning this topic and one of the vital benefits is that it has been observed to lower stress. I agree with this opinion because when an individual listens to music, the lyrics in the song can divert one's attention and also playing the instruments relaxed the nerves. In this essay, I agree that music reduces stress with the help of relevant examples and a logical conclusion. When listening to music, the lyrics in the song have a way of casting people's minds to something else either in the abstract. For,example people listen to love songs, the lyrics according to some individuals make you remember when you first loved or you could remember when you first met that special person that brings a smile to your face and distract your mind from the stressor at that point in time. Furthermore, listening to music calms the nerves, relaxes the muscles and reduces stress. In recent years, research has shown that one of the ways of counteracting stress is by listening to music through vocals or instruments. Although, in some,cases music can rather become a stressor instead of a stress antagonist. For example in some parts of Nigeria where the best way of listening to music is by tuning the volume to be very. This of course disturbs the peace of the mind and the serenity of the environment. In conclusion, music is a very important option for managing stress but it can also be a major factor of stress when it is wrongly used.