Some children spend hours every day on their smartphones. Why is this the case? Do you think this is a positive or negative development?

Nowadays, the younger generation uses mobile phones a lot when compared to the old times. This is mainly due to the development of social media platforms that are becoming significantly popular among youngsters. I believe that the overuse of phones imposes a negative impact on children as they become addicted to them over the period. To begin with, the advancement of technologies often makes social websites more interactive which attracts youths, and they find it interesting to use. These online platforms give a chance to the kids to connect with anyone around the world, spend their time on it, and thereby keep them socially active most of the time. For example, a recent study shows that more than 90% of Juveniles at least use one of the social networking sites such as Facebook, or Instagram and spend a minimum of 4 hours every day chatting with their friends, updating their profile by sharing personal info, and so on. Further, this over usage of smartphones significantly affects children subsequently attaining a stage where they cannot live without using social media. This not only brings a negative impact on kids’ brain growth, performance, and development but also kills the quality time that they can spend with their family every day. Eventually, youngsters develop less bonding with their parents and relatives and isolate themselves from them. In addition, they even fail to be a part of their family and stop celebrating special occasions. In conclusion, kids are using cell phones for more hours than before because of the advancement of social media apps. In my opinion, this is a negative development that lures youngsters to get addicted to such apps and parents must definitely restrict their children by setting a timer for them to limit daily phone usage.