In Britain, when someone gets old they often go to live in a home with other old people where there are nurses to look after them. Sometimes the government has to pay for this care. Who do you think should pay for this care, the government or the family? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

The old generation will require special care following their retirements, in England, they usually spend time in a retirement village with nurse available to take care of them. I believe that instead of putting the burden entirely to families or the government, both parties should take their parts in financing the costs for the elderly. On the one hand, government need to take care of their older demographics under two reasons. Firstly, the elderly paid taxes for more than 40 years, which means that they deserve something in return for their investment, including decent facilities in their retirement age. To illustrate, a retire Change the form of the verb retired show examples public servant in his late 60 spare their annual salaries for the government though a tax system, which means that he contributed to the state development budgets for decades. Therefore, the government need to strategically plan the budgets to fund the nurse which will be responsible in giving extra care for the elderly. Secondly, nursing house tend to be expensive and it might put a burden for families with low-income. For example, if the family members are unable to afford retirement care, their old relatives might suffer to get an ideal treatment in their late age. Consequently, the government must create subsidies and focusing the budget to those struggling financially. On the other hand, I would argue that some families are wealthy enough, thus they can easily spare money for retirement services. In fact, for high-income society, not only they can fund their parents or grandparents, they can also choose for a private nursing house with luxury services and well-trained nurse. As a result, it will increase satisfaction levels for the families as they can send their parents to the most advanced retirement villages. This means that rich families can survive without the government help, allowing the government to focus on low-income members. In conclusion, the government duties are to provide care for the elderly because they pay taxes for years. However, I remain convinced that case-to-case situation should be considered and the government need to allocated the budgets for poor families.