Universities should accept equal numbers of male and female students in every subject. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is often argued by some that an equal number of both the genders must be given an opportunity to enroll in a university program. Although some might agree with this notion; however, I completely disagree. Not only because few subjects are meant for specific gender and applicants must be judged on potential qualification but also because the idea is unrealistic practically. This essay will explore how these points will justify my opinion. There are numerous benefits of unproportioned numbers of students. Firstly, there are certain subjects which demand one specific gender in a course. Take an example of nursing courses, which tend to attract more female applicants and it would be difficult to fill these courses if fifty per cent of the places go to males. Thus, numerical gender equity is not feasible. Secondly, apart from specific subjects, the criteria to judge a student should be based on merit. In this way, both men and women have the same opportunities. For instance, in a globally recognized university NYC, in a program called musical art, there are 200 aplicaticants out of which 60% are male. If the criteria is equal number of genders, then the concept of merit is sacrificed. Finally, student numbers on any course depend on the applications that the institution receives. If a university decides to fill courses with equal numbers of males and females, it would need enough applicants of each gender which is practically not possible. To sum-up, I believe that an unequal number of students would result in greater opportunities for a choice of subject course and fair system as well as an organized education system