Traditionally, zoos are considered a sanctuary for endangered species, yet some of them are notorious for being cruel to animals. Do the advantages of zoos outweigh its disadvantages?

Zoos are conventionally viewed as a sanctuary for wild animals, providing a safe environment for them to live and breed. However, some of them are criticized for their treatment of animals, with reports of mistreatment and neglect. This phenomenon has both sides which are going to be presented in this essay, and from my perspective, its benefits are much more significant than its drawbacks. It is detachable that keeping animals in captivity might have a few downsides. First, the welfare of animals can be affected. To be more specific, some zoos keep vulnerable species in small enclosures and subject them to cruel treatment, such as using physical restraints, drugging animals to keep them sedated or depriving them of food and water. This can lead to a range of physical and behavioural problems, especially adverse reactions when they are domesticated to be more friendly with humans. Furthermore, some zoos often prioritize entertainment over education, particularly when it comes to exhibits and attractions. That is to say that some zoos may feature animals in unnatural settings in order to create a more dramatic or exciting experience for visitors rather than exhibitions and educational presentations. Despite the aforementioned arguments, my position remains firm that the upsides of zoos should be emphasized. The most striking one is its crucial role in conservation effects. In other words, though the poor treatment of animals occurs in a few zoos, almost all of the zoos provide a safe sanctuary and good animal welfare (feeding, housing and health). Hence, zoos easily offer opportunities for scientific research and breeding programs that help to preserve and protect these species from extinction. Moreover, zoos can serve as a valuable educational resource for the public, particularly for children. Zoos often offer guided tours and interactive exhibits that can help people understand the importance of biodiversity and conservation. As a result, zoos can fulfil their potential to inspire and motivate visitors to become more engaged and active in protecting the inhabitants. In conclusion, although I admit that there are some negatives related to zoos such as bad welfare and prioritizing entertainment, I still believe that its positives including conservation effects and awareness raising are certainly greater. Therefore, the government, in cooperation with local authorities, needs to enact related laws and regulations to mitigate the inhumane treatment of animals and other adverse impacts.