People think that the best way to reduce crime is to give longer prison sentences. Others believe that there are other alternative solutions for reducing crime. Discuss both views and give your opinion on this topic.

While it is widely claimed that giving longer prison sentences is the best method to reduce crime, some argue that there are other solutions for reducing crime. In the essay, I will discuss both views and state my opinion. To begin with, it might be sensible for some to believe that putting the criminal in jail can ensure the safety of other citizens. This is possible because prisoners can not go out to offend someone. If they did not offence so the crimes will not happen and the amount of these will be decreased. Moreover, those people can be thinking about terrible things that they do if they stay in that place longer. To illustrate, the first month that they might think about themself, but after,that they might think about their offence. On the other hand, opponents of this idea might propose that after they are released they might re-offend as the reason that some of them do not feel guilty. For example, this can be seen in many cases in Thailand where the criminals repeat the offence and people who live in that area are scared. Therefore, some suggest that capital punishment, if those people died, fewer prisoners in the country. Furthermore, fear of the death penalty can stop people from committing offences. However, some argue we have no right to take anyone's life. Personally, I would argue in favour of capital punishment, seeing that some criminals do not feel guilty. In conclusion, although it is undeniable that prisons are the best way to reduce crimes, I am of the opinion that the death penalty is better for some individuals in order that stop some offences from the same person.