Different kinds of advertisements are becoming too common in our lives. People argue whether it is a positive or a negative development. What is your opinion? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

It is true that advertisements are a compulsory part of modern life as they fill the mass media. Apparently, this phenomenon has huge advantages for progress in international and national business and communication, as well as certain disadvantages. To begin with, advertising is a great tool for promoting businesses and their products and services. It is hard to disagree that advertisements inform customers about the choices that they have. Secondly, the advertising industry provides wide opportunities for a great number of people for employment and the realisation of their professional skills. Undoubtedly, without these workplaces, we would have a much higher rate of unemployment. Finally, commercials are often funny, artistic, or thought-provoking, giving some little hints for solving daily problems. On the other hand, this enormous industry has a significant negative influence on people's lives. First of all, advertisers aim to convince society that buying things leads to happiness without any concern about the usefulness of those things. For example, the majority of advertising chocolates are made of oils and other food additives that are extremely harmful to health. Obviously, children are easily influenced by such advertisements and put pressure on their parents by pestering or nagging them. Additionally, everyone who watches ads is persuaded to follow the latest trends and fashions, which creates much tension and competition in communications. To sum up, it is undeniable that ads and commercials are a mandatory part of our lives, having both positive and negative impacts on them. Therefore, each individual is able to restrict the negative ones and use them only in a beneficial way.