In the past, sporting champions used to be motivated primarily by the desire to win a match or to break world records. These days, they are more likely to be motivated by prize money and the opportunity to be famous. What message does this send to young people and how does this attitude to sport affect the sports themselves? Give reasons for your answer.

In ancient ages, sports people mainly focuses to get a victory and make be world champions by breaking records but nowadays the trend of earning prize money and fame has been more popular. In this, essay i will discuss how this changing scenario will affect attitudes toward sports and what kind of messages will be delivered to the younger generations. First and foremost, the hunger to earn money and fame will negatively impact the younger generation. In addition to it money -minded sports person may not have fair play and there is a high probability of conspiracy and corruption in the game. The new generations may imitate this attitude leading any kind of game to a dirty game. Earning a trophy and breaking the world record can be life-changing for sports people but if money attracts them then the result can be horrible. Sports will be a business than art. To give an example a national club name Lion used to break its own records in the past but after players resigned to seek better opportunities in other clubs all the other players started to run for money and join different clubs. Secondly, in the case of world cups, if the players started to play for money then it would be very difficult for a country to pay for players as a result of which they might play for another country. This will hinder the country to get the trophy it deserves. For instance, popular football player Zembarg played for Spain in the world cup,not Argentina as Spain bought him and surprisingly Spain won the title. In addition to, this it will decrease the brotherhood and love for the country which the new generation will learn and they start to be more greedy and selfish than patriotic. To conclude, the changing desire of sportspersons from being world champions to earning money and fame is negatively impacting the young generation making them selfish on the one hand and money minded on the one hand.