Should governments spend more money on improving roads, or should governments spend more money on improving public transportation (buses, trains, subways)? Why?

Some people think the betterment of roads is crucial and the governments should invest in this, whilst others are of the opinion that authorities must primarily focus on developing the best roadway and railway transportation system. I believe that improvements done to public transportation should be of higher priority. This essay further elucidates both the aforementioned views and my opinion. On the one hand, I and others posit that upgrading both the quality and the frequency of road and rail transport encourages a plethora of people to take public transfers, which in turn, enormously alleviates CO2 emissions. As individuals prefer to use buses or subways for their daily commute instead of cars, subsequently, this will save our planet from the global warming issue. For instance, in Western countries like the UK, the government drastically improved the underground tube trains frequency which lures many to use that, by considering it to be a better alternative for personal vehicles. On the other hand, some individuals argue that constructing better roads should be given the first place by authorities, as this would greatly enhance the widened route for road travel on a day-to-day basis. Eventually, this reduces the traffic during peak hours and saves a lot of journey time for people during their travel. For example, a survey was conducted in a local community about “what people think could be the reasons for traffic jams”. The majority of them voted for the poor quality of roads and the betterment needed. In conclusion, authorities focusing on developing public transportation majorly contributes to less pollution and global warming whereas, others suggest the governments improve the roads to cut down the daily traffic. In my opinion, upgrading roadways and railways are vital and at the same time, saving mother nature.