Rich countries often give money to poorer countries, but it does not solve poverty. Therefore, developed countries should give other types of help to the poor countries rather than financial aid. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It has been a norm that developed nations give financial support to underdeveloped nations. Some people believe that they should assist these marginalised countries in other ways instead of giving them money. I agree with this notion to a certain extent. I believe that in addition to money, they should give assistance in other ways to help the poor. Firstly, it is imperative that first-world states give financial support to third-world states for most of them are drowning in debt because they are mostly dependent on loans which they continuously take in order to meet the financial demands of their nations. For example, almost half of the regions in Africa are unstable, there is high inflation and they are not liable to borrow anymore because they could be owing other nations. Therefore any financial help especially from the richer nations would be of great assistance. Besides giving assistance financially, the well-up nations can help the less developed countries by introducing programmes that alleviate poverty as well as financial literacy. Most African countries are rich in resources such as minerals and vast farming land but the majority of the citizen do not have the capacity as well as the knowledge to draw out profit from them. Since richer nations were once poor, they could come in with their experience and train leaders of these governments on how to prioritise finances. For instance, there have been reports that many of these governments are struggling with corruption and mismanagement of funds. Moreso, developed countries could be of great help to raise these nations from suffering. In conclusion, although giving money to poor states has been a common gesture by rich nations, that has not been enough to bring them out of poverty. More needs to be done to assist the disadvantaged nations.