Some children spend hours every day on their smartphones. Why is the case? Is this a positive or negative development?

The use of mobile calls up is increasing dramatically worldwide. The majority of the young generation spends most second daily using handsets. This essay will discuss the cause of this situation and will elaborate on the negative impact of this situation. To begin, there are numerous reasons why most youngsters are addicted to dial. Firstly, due to advanced technology and modernization handsets are now readily available and accessible to everyone including children., However previously mobile phones were very expensive that few individuals could afford them, so not everyone could own one. Nowadays parents who do not have ample term for their kids mostly purchase the device for them so they could get a sort of company by playing games with them or learning rhymes. For,example about 62% of folks of 7-17 years are using smartphones which were bought by their parents in Ghana. Most parents argued that handsets are able to compensate for the quality season they missed out on with their wards. Also adolescent in boarding school uses the device to keep in touch with their families and friends. Furthermore, I think that kids using cell phones have various drawbacks. I am saying this because kids are now developing so they turned to be naive and with these,gadgets there are numerous content and applications which are not suitable for the junior population to watch or listen to. Especially when there is no parental guidance because programs such as phonographic and violent movies might distort their behaviour. For,instance my friends who started watching those films at a tender age are now promiscuous. In,addition smartphones could distract adolescent's focus and attention from their books to watching different entertainment shows, which might go a long way to reduce their academic performance. In conclusion, most youngsters spend quality time each day on their smartphones. In this,essay I discussed the reasons for this occurrence and its disadvantages on children's behaviour and academic performance.