People with 10 or more years' experience are far more knowledgeable than people still in their twenties. It is therefore logical that employees should always choose older people over young people for work. What are your opinions on this?

A large workplace has a varying age demographic. Those with 10 or more years of experience are seen as mentors to those younger than them and some feel that they should be picked over others. In this essay, I will discuss why some believe that it is better to hire an experienced workforce over a newer one and why it can be detrimental. Knowledge gained by experienced individuals is absolutely invaluable to a company's performance. To be able to implement solutions to a complicated problem in a high strung environment is not easy. A recent graduate thrust into a busy, workfilled work filled environment will struggle, when compared to a senior employee. Consequently, they are able to solve the hardest of problems without breaking a sweat. A 20 year old working at a financial institution, for instance, would not be able to create an efficient forecast, which would be a piece of cake for an experienced member. The more information a worker has, the smoother the company functions. However, selecting older people is detrimental to the company's diversity and energy. Younger folks are more dynamic and are able to work longer and harder. As we get older, we tire easily and as a result, our productivity decreases. For example, an older person might be able to perform a few tasks a day before they are exhausted while a youth is able to multi-task and work faster. Furthermore, not hiring adolescents increases unemployment and affects the economy as a whole. To conclude, older people have priceless experiences that help a company's longevity. However, alienating the newer population will have overarching harmful effects which might lead to a company's demise.