Advertisements are becoming more and more common in everyday life. Is it a positive or negative development?

It is rather often that businesses have to endure the cut-throat competition for attracting customers and for increasing sales as well. In order for their products to either stand out from the crowd or to emphasis how unique their products are, companies usually use advertising as a tool attracting customers. In my opinion, marketing and branding strategy for boosting sales by means of advertising new and unique features of a product is mostly negative development. Most of the brands if not all claim their product to be the most fascinating which suits to the customers’ needs with new features in the market. They do so to create a positive impression to the consumers to increase their sales and profitability while also staying ahead of their competitors. For instance, the advertisements on TV for products like shampoo, soaps or body lotion proclaim their products having the best ingredients and, in addition to that, consist of something new that their counterparts lack of. They may even outdo their old products by adding new flavour or a new vitamin claiming that their new product is the best ever. Obviously, this is a marketing strategy boosting sales and profitability creating a craving between the consumers for their products at the same time. As the new features which the businesses advertise are nothing novel, it is mostly a negative trend doing so. They are merely a different version of the same product with a change of flavour or ingredients. Some of the car manufacturers and electronic device manufacturers sometimes indeed do extensive research revamping their products and genuinely add new features for their customers. However, most of the time, consumer products or perhaps some of the well-known electronic brands enjoy adding more creativity to their advertisements rather than the real products and hence making the wrong impression on people that they need these new products. To conclude, it is through research and development that novelty and innovation of products should be produced and not through tricks of marketing and advertising.