In some countries young people are encouraged to work or travel for a year between finishing high school and starting university studies. Discuss the advantages and disadvantages for young people who decide to do this .

Young individuals in some nations are edged to take a gap year before they enrol into university for tertiary education. However, taking a break from school can be beneficial for one's personal development but can also have some drawbacks. On the one hand, working or travelling for a year just after completing high school has some advantages especially if it is well-planned. Firstly, this is good for young adults for they will be able to rediscover themselves and develop their interpersonal skills such as communication, resilience, flexibility and teamwork. To illustrate, most gap years involve travelling to unfamiliar places or countries where they will be exposed to different environments which will require them to adapt quickly to survive. Secondly, exposure to work environments is helpful in boosting their resume in the future when they seek employment. Therefore, taking a small break could be beneficial for these youngsters. On the other hand, there are obvious disadvantages to taking a halt to studies. One evident disadvantage is that some of them might never want to come back to learn in the classroom anymore due to failure to transition from their break properly. In some,cases some might have been caught up in unruly behaviour such as drugs, crime or even pregnancy. For example, there has been a growing trend of girls falling pregnant during gap years in most African countries. Another drawback is the financial implications brought about by this practice. These expeditions can be costly for they need the youths to travel, book hotels, games and also food to eat as well as healthcare expenses in case they fall sick. In conclusion, while there are plus points to breaking from school for a year, it can result in a loss of interest in education or very huge and unnecessary expenses to the parents.